Home

When I was a wee bean sprout, my parents took me on a vacation to somewhere sunny, beach-laden, and bustling with people.  I have one very distinct memory from an otherwise unclear day, because while it didn’t introduce me to theology, it introduced me to the idea that everyone surely had their own brand of life and it was concrete and righteous, always.  We were walking along a boardwalk and we passed a wooden beach house, and graffittied on the side of that beach house was “The meaning of life is a life of meaning.”  How beautiful, how simple, and I stopped there and merrily walked away, and for many years, that was that.

Of course it’s not until you start to think about your future that it might occur to you that the meaning of life and the purpose of life are very different, and then you might extend that into the meaning and purpose of your life, and then it’s a completely different matter altogether.

Reader, I may be at a point in my young bean plant life where I am philosophical and confused, but allow me to share with you the poem that I chosen to be my muse this summer, and then allow me to explain how it relates to you.

 

O Me!  O Life!            by Walt Whitman

Oh me! Oh life! of the questions of these recurring,
Of the endless trains of the faithless, of cities fill’d with the foolish,
Of myself forever reproaching myself, (for who more foolish than I, and who more faithless?)
Of eyes that vainly crave the light, of the objects mean, of the struggle ever renew’d,
Of the poor results of all, of the plodding and sordid crowds I see around me,
Of the empty and useless years of the rest, with the rest me intertwined,
The question, O me! so sad, recurring—What good amid these, O me, O life?
                                       Answer.
That you are here—that life exists and identity,
That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute a verse.
Reader, this is what I hope I can give to you this summer.  A verse.  Hopefully more than one.  And be that in the form of science, people, art or the questions of these recurring, I think about how wonderful it is to have ideas planted in your head and hopefully, this blog may act as some kind of fertilizer.
Leave a Reply

